Quiet Day –

Slice of Life logoToday we sit

Watch quietly

Talk softly

Remember stories

                                             Are thankful for our elders

We made plans, exchanged phone numbers again, checked i-pads to be sure we could Face Time, double check call time – yes we were ready.  My daughter and I with my Mother in one town and my cousins and their dad in another.

They are both elderly, both sick and so it goes – the time arrives and slides past us. We are ready but they are both sleeping.  As they say: the best laid plans …

And so they sit and watch their father sleep at age 87 with cancer.  We sit and watch my Mother sleep at age 95 with a terrible head cold and Parkinson’s.

We remember and give thanks for wonderful parents and relatives. We think of the times of fun and the things we learned.  We have a quiet day.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quiet Day –

  1. Deb Lairson says:

    I am sorry that you have family members who are ill. I am so glad that your loved ones have people like you in their lives. There are so many elderly people all alone. It may be a quiet day, but it is wrapped in love. 🙂

  2. I am sorry you have family members who are sick. It is so hard to sit and watch when there is so little you can do to make it better. I am glad they have you and many loved family members to sit with them even through the quiet days.

  3. arjeha says:

    I am sorry for hour sick loved ones. I have had many quiet times with family members. It was comforting to use this time to watch and remember good timed.

Leave a Reply

