Puddles and Poetry

Slice of Life logoPuddles 

Guess what I saw

In a puddle one day,

Starry and glary

                                                   And grinning away

                                                  A wiggle face

                                                  so funny to see.

And what do you think?

It looked like me!

                                                                                              -Pearl H. Watts

It is the end of a long winter and the end of March! The sky is grey and it is – yes raining.  We have puddles and poetry!

April is poetry month and since we are just days away from April I began looking for poems about rain. Did I tell you it is raining today?

 This little poem is an old poem found in my Aunt Inez’s Scribble-In Book. She was an elementary school teacher who got her teaching certificate in the 1920’s. In her collection of teaching materials was a small hard bound book with blank pages. She used this Scribble-In book to paste in poems from newspapers, magazines or hand written poems that she found along the way.

Several of these poems were marked for choral readings – listing the parts along the side. It was great fun to finger through the pages of time looking at poems my Aunt might have taught in her class and begin to think about what I will share with students this year.

What poems are you going to share with your class next month?

I will be using Joyce Sidman’s work – the works of one author who connects to nature.  Did I tell it is spring and we can think about things outside?

Take a look at Joyce’s web site and blog – below are a short list of books that I have used often with students. It is a wonderful way to step into spring and poetry all at the same time!   Enjoy!

http://www.joycesidman.com/

  • Swirly by Swirl – Spirals in Nature 
  • Dark Emperor and other Poems in the Night 
  • Butterfly Eyes and Other Secrets of the Meadow 
  • Song of the Water Boatman 
  • Red Sings from the Tree Tops: A Year in Colors 
  • Ubiquitous Celebrating Nature’s Survivors 
  • What the Heart Knows: Chants, Charms and Blessings 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Puddles and Poetry

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Sidmans’ books are wonderful, & I so enjoy this latest, too. What a sweet little poem you discovered in your aunt’s things. It would be a fun one to memorize! The things must be very special to see. I’m excited about April too, means poetry AND warmer weather!

  2. arjeha says:

    What a treasure you found. I like the idea your aunt had of a scribble-in book. A great way to not misplace things. I could have used this idea when I was teaching. I constantly misplaced things I put away for safe keeping.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    SO glad that you mentioned Sidman, she IS a joy! What The Heart Knows is a very special collection. I’m looking forward to Poetry Month, too.

Leave a Reply

