March 19 – seeking color?

Slice of Life logo

The first day of spring is Thursday, March 20, the date of the vernal equinox, or spring equinox, in the northern hemisphere. The new season will begin officially at 12:57 p.m. EDT on Thursday.

Thursday – ok that is tomorrow!  Really, I just got inside from shoveling about three inches of snow (I know I should not complain since just north of us they are shoveling up to 10 inches of the white stuff).

The world outside is a beautiful crisp white all over again. The small patches of ground that I had gone seeking yesterday are now covered with white. I like white – well last year I liked white. Now not so much!

Due to this winter my closet will change – the white t-shirts are going, the white summer pants are going, no white shoes, the white scarf is now hidden at the bottom of my closet with the hopes I will not see it any time soon. I am not a girl of fashion or of color. I am happy with whites, and blues but not this year. I am seeking color where ever I can find it.  Red pants??  Green shoes??

We are in need of reds, oranges, purples, yellows, green and more green. The eyes and souls are tired of this white. There is a chill to the color that just does not leave you alone.

So today I leave you with a bit of warmth – not a picture of what is outside my window but of colors we are all seeking!  Happy Spring!

IMG_0169

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to March 19 – seeking color?

  1. b says:

    So interesting the comparison you make to how white makes us feel vs. how colors make us feel. White usually calms…white makes peaceful whatever it covers. In your case, white may feel like a hospital or athletic tape for ankle injuries. As an aside, I just saw the most beautiful creamy white scarf at Ann Taylor this weekend…part of the spring collection. After the snow is long gone…maybe you’ll consider checking it out! 🙂 White is also versatile! b

  2. Lisa says:

    Me too. Except I am tired of grey and black. Every time I fold my laundry I am surprised at how much grey and black I have accumulated. I want to throw it all out in favour of beautiful summer colours!

    • There is that side of it also! I had written in the blog post my like of white, grey, black and blue but couldn’t even stand to leave written in the post. We all need color! Hoping it comes soon for all!

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Hooray for all those scrumptious colors – can’t wait for this snowy white to turn green again!

Leave a Reply

