It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Fantasy and historical fiction

IMWAYRIt is just a good question! Especially after look at the facts that were posted on Donalyn’s twitter feed this weekend.  (http://www.slideshare.net/Donalynm/why-cant-i-skip-my-20-minutes-of-reading-tonight     Reading in the Wild)

Are you and your students reading 20 minutes each day? We are!

Pete Nimble and the Fantastic Eyes – yes, I finished it and yes, I liked it.  I was not sure at first this was my type of book but I did indeed get pulled into Peter’s story and needed to know how this was going to end. Auxier creates a great tale of adventure, mystery and friendship. The character development is what kept me reading. The adventure was fun but I love deep characters who change as the story progresses.  imgres

Auxier gives us those changes in characters. We grow and learn as Peter and Sir Tode learn to care for each other, understand their differences and meet new people on their journey. This story is set for a great classroom read aloud and conversations

  • about good and evil,
  • are all thief’s bad and all kings good
  • what makes a friendship
  • how do you know who you should help and support (Peter had a hard time finding out who he had really set sail to help – who are the good guys?)

There are these and many more conversations to be had while following a fantastic journey.  Auxier also has a new book coming out this spring called the The Night Gardener.  It looks like great fun as well and I can’t wait to read it.  The Night Gardener

A quick picture book I read and used this week was My Name is Georgia by Jeanette Winter.  I decided to try modeling visual note taking with my 3rd and 4th graders since all they want to do is draw. I was reading the response to writing blog posts over at Two Writing teachers and thought is was perfect for my students.  (http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/writing-about-reading-blog-series/ )

search This little book on the life of Georgia O’Keeffe was just what we needed. It is quick, filled with lots of facts, details and images to help students think about their own pictures. It would be wonderful in a biography unit for younger students. It also was a good starting point for how to take notes, what important facts do we need to capture when taking notes or creating images. (I will write more about this experience tomorrow for Slice of Life with pictures of student work. It was great experience for all.)

This week I am reading:

  • Still Writing by Shapiro  (professional reading)
  • One Came Home (I missed this one on my 2013 reading list)
  • The Mark of the Dragonfly (release date is March 2014)
  • Little Audrey by Ruth White (This was used to model Visual Note taking with students along with My Name is Georgia and now I need to finish reading the book.  I get hooked way to easily.)

Happy Reading this week!

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Fantasy and historical fiction

  1. Myra GB says:

    Will add My Name is Georgia to my growing list of picture book biographies. Sounds like a great read. I love the book cover of The Night Gardener, just my type of creepy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

