It’s Monday! What are you reading? Fantasy

IMWAYRI am traveling this week and working on my mini iPad. Which is great for reading but not the best for extended writing.  Typing with my thumbs is ok but I prefer a key board. (I must be showing my age)

So short and sweet

I read the Forbidden Stone (book 1 of The Copernicus Legacy) by Tony Abbott. This author is new to me but has written 100’s of children’s books. It is a wonderful middle grades adventure book. There will be six in the series with book two coming out next October. Check it out!  39596

It is a great book for students to do a bit of research both on science topics and geography of the world. I  am glad I read it first and marked places where I will stop and have students gather more information before I continue to read. A great way to show students how fiction writer use real facts and information in their writing.

imgresI am also finishing Peter Nimble and the Fantastic Eyes. It is a fun fantasy adventure for middle grade readers. Watch for a longer review later this week.

Reading Next:

The award books I haven’t read yet-

  • Doll Bones
  • The Paper Boy

and a few others!  Happy Reading!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? Fantasy

  1. I’m just finishing Doll Bones today with my older son. It’s made a very fine read-aloud. I am pleased to see it honored. I also haven’t read Paperboy, but my libraries STILL don’t have it! Hopefully now they’ll order it! I am always so amazed at how fast–and accurately!–my students can type with their thumbs. I love the convenience of iphone and ipad, but not my favorites for doing much typing either.

  2. Fats Suela says:

    Both books look like interesting reads! I saw Peter Nimble at the bookstore and I wanted to buy it. Will definitely have to check the library for a copy. Thank you for sharing these books! =)

Leave a Reply

