Fairy Tales again! Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

search-2It seems I keep running into fairy tales or twisted tales and this week was prefect for a visit with the Snow Queen once again.  Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy will be released in in late January and it is fitting for such a cold wintery month.

Foxlee is a new author to me.  She is an Australian author with two books out – The Midnight Dress and The Anatomy of Wings.  Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy is a middle grades book that brings the old world of wizards and Snow Queens into more current day.

Ophelia has lost her mother and seems to have also lost her way with her family and as importantly she has lost herself.  She sees herself as very scientific but is now dealing with wizards, magic and Snow Queens. All things unreal or are they.

Her mother was the writer of tales dark and deep with the great imagination not her. But as her father works in a museum to prepare for a world wide sword display and the ringing of a ancient clock called the Wintertide comes near Ophelia is drawn into the world of a young boy (who is about 300 years old), ghosts, wizards and the Snow Queen, herself. It appears it is little sickly Ophelia’s job to save everyone and everything.

Foxlee creates and new tale around the history of the Snow Queen. What happens when magic doesn’t die? What happens when it pushes its way into current day life? Can you get your family to believe you? Can you believe in yourself and what skills do we have to deal with deep magic and the sorrows of our heart?

I must admit this was a slow read for me at the beginning. I don’t know if I have just over read twisted fairy tales this fall or if the cold tale was just to cold for a deep cold December’s read. I almost put it away but there was a nagging that made me push through to where, the characters although they were still in the cold grasp of the queen, I was warming to their worries and struggles. I needed to know that the world could be recused from the depth of winter.  I needed to know that spring will come again.

Ok this is not a spoiler alert – I don’t know if spring comes – I am on chapter 17 where Ophelia realizes she must rescue her sister. It feels like a turning point. Our sickly Ophelia is gaining strength and so have I.

I am off to finish the last 10 chapters to see if spring does indeed come and can a little girl of science save the world through magic.

Check it out this January –  it is great fun and a good addition to the collection of current fairy tale books.  (For another review of Twisted Fairy Tales see my post here!)

Happy January Reading until you can get ahold of Ophelia!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fairy Tales again! Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you Reading? | Words from JL

  2. Pingback: Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee | booking rehab

Leave a Reply

