It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  • Out of Easy
  • The Summer of Letting Go
  • Al Capone Does My HomeworkIMWAYR

This was my to reading list from last week. I fell into the world of old time New Orleans- the French Quarter to be exact. This is where Josie is growing up, cleaning at the “cat” house where her mother works, living alone above a book store at age 11 and dreaming of going to college. We follow this marvelous young woman as she weaves her way to adulthood through the underbelly of life. Out of Easy is written by Ruta Sepetys, who also wrote Between Shades of Gray.

( Which now I must go back and read because I loved her writing so much.)

Each time I picked up Out of Easy I was transported into Josie’s world. Josie is a young woman who loves learning/reading and is a quick study on life. She has strength, is bold and knows where she wants to go even when her mother is wondering lost in the streets and underworld.

Sepetys takes this coming of age/mystery right to the last pages and left me not wanting the book to end. I was more than ready to go back to page one and start over. It has been awhile since a book caught me that way.

I tried to read a few other middle grade books afterwards but they just did hold up after Out of Easy.

I moved on to a pre release copy of Alan Bradleys new book, The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches. This is part of the Flavia de Luce series. Flavia is an 11 year old chemist and would be detective. I believe Bradley is writing for adults but this is one series that could cross that line. Is it an adult book or a Young adult book?  The main character is eleven and way to smart for her age but as a reader you love her for her knowledge and the way it helps her to navigate her world. If you haven’t read any of this series you really should.

Now I am back to my reading list-I am going to have to pick up my pace if I am going to get books read before the awards at the end of January. Here is what I am currently looking at reading this week –

  • The Summer of Letting Go
  • Al Capone Does My Homework
  • Winger

Happy Reading and Happy Holidays!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. Myra GB says:

    I haven’t read any of Ruta Sepetys work yet, but I read a lot of very positive reviews about her books, so I can’t wait to familiarize myself with a few of her titles. Have a great reading week!

Leave a Reply

