It’s Monday! What are you reading?

IMWAYR I was into fair tales this week and read A Grimm Legacy (Grimm Tales #1) by Janna Jennings. This book was released October 29 of this year. It is a great adventure into the world of Grimm’s fairy tales. Not the Disney tales but the real tales written by the Grimm brothers.  18051387

Well – ok it is not the Grimm’s tales either but it is clear these four teenagers have fallen into what is a great blending of the tales and yes there are some grim parts.  These tales are not filled with your happy go lucky folks. It appears someone is not pleased with our friends and life gets tough very quickly.

This book has many twists and turns so you are always wondering what story you are in- is this Cinderella or Rumpelstillskin? I was sure I had the ending worked out when Jennings added one more change that I was surprised at- I am not giving anything away. She clearly lets us know we should expect book two. These folks are not finished with their tale yet. This is a fun read and would be good to pair with the reading of the original Grimm’s Tales.

imgresThere is also the series out called Half Upon a Time by James Riley. He does not pull in the modern day world but mixes and matches the fairy tale characters to create a whole new story. The last of his trilogy was released last spring – Once Upon an End.  ( Book 2 is on my reading list for this week – Twice Upon a Time.)

If you are seeking more books to compare and contrast in imgres-1the modern factured fair tale genre you could also include three books by Adam Gidwitz. They begin with In a Glass Grimmly, then you can enjoy The Tale Dark and Grimm. His final companion book was released this fall – The Grimm Conclusion.

The one picture book I read this week was by Eve Bunting that came out in 1988.  It is called How Many Days to America?  A Thanksgiving Story. It is not your Pilgrim story but the modern day story of one families journey as they flee their village for safety. It is their voyage to America in a small boat with many people. This tells the story of their coming to America and the thankfulness when others are there to help.  imgres-2

This is a beautiful story to share with students and discuss both the history and the current events around people who must leave their homes for safer places.

The reading list for next week is way to long:

  • Twice Upon a Time by Riley
  • The Search for Wondla by Tony Diterlizzi ( I also have book 2 The Hero of Wondla) 
  • Out of Easy by Sepetys
  • The Thing About Luck by Kadohata ( I know I haven’t read it and it won the National Book award this week so it has now been added to the list.
  • The Riverman by Starmer ( to be release next March)
  • The Summer of Letting Go (and yes I know it was on last weeks list and the fair tale world took over.)

It is clear I am going to need to let go a few of these – given this is a week of family and traveling but it will be fun to see what I really read.

I will let you know next Monday!  Happy Reading!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Myra GB says:

    I’ve been seeing these Grim adaptations for quite awhile now. I think I also have Sisters Grimm if I’m not mistaken in my shelves. Haven’t gotten around to them yet. I know what you mean about having too many books in your to-be-read stack. Our public libraries doubled our loan quota and I ended up with bags and bags of books borrowed from the library. When I’d get to them is a good question. Have a great time with your family! Safe travels.

  2. Pingback: Fairy Tales again! Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy | Words from JL

Leave a Reply

