It’s Monday! What are you reading?

IMWAYRThis past week I stepped into historical fiction with Karen Cushman’s book Alchemy and Meggy Swann, which came out in 2010. I also picked up Will Sparrow’s Road while at the library. I enjoyed the step back into old England and watching how Meggy struggled, learned and found she had many resources and skills even if her legs did not work well.url

The sights and sound of this time period were alive and rich helping me think about the differences in current life to Meggy’s. It would be a great read for students to understand what historical fiction is really about. Using this text to compare and contrast would be fun and easy for students who are just building those skills with reading.

searchI quickly moved on to Will Sparrow and got stuck. The book seems to be a repeat of Meggy but with a boy character. I have to admit I am not far in the book but have no real desire to finish it. I promised myself I would read a bit further but – maybe if I had not just read The Alchemy and Meggy Swann I would be more interested.

If you are doing a class study of historical fiction these might be great books for boys and girls to read and then compare and contrast the view point of a boy character and a girl character. How does that change what an author does with their book?  They are written about the same time period and both in old England.

A quick non fiction book I read this week is Handle with Care An Unusual Butterfly Journey by Loree Giffin Burns. This lovely book will be released March 2014. The photo’s by Ellen Harasimonwicz are wonderful. They make the story for me.

This little book does not follow the usual path of migrating butterflies but shows us how butterflies are raised and shipped to butterfly houses around the United States. So many museums now host butterfly houses for children to watch, learn and explore.

This book shows us how those butterflies arrive at these museums. The process helps us see the life cycle of the butterfly and the care these scientists must take to help these insects survive. This book will be a must in my science library this spring. I love the details they share, the information in the back, vocabulary building and further reading resources. This is a little gem not to be missed.

What I am hoping to read:  I looked back at my last Mondays post to see what I said I would read and realize I did not read any of those books. Sorry about that if you were waiting for a review of one of those. I started The Good Braider but was side tracked by historical fiction.

Here is the list for this week:  I hope

  • A Grimm Legacy (Grimm Tales, #1) to be released March 2014.
  • The Good Braider
  • The Dragon’s Boy by Jane Yolen
  • Penny from Heaven (I did not get to this last week)

My list of books to read expanded greatly this week as new books came in through Netgalley and my loading of the app Bluefire Reader to help view text with more images. It also means I have a copy of The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner which I am excited to read. Maybe next week.

Happy Reading!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. megan says:

    Oh, thanks for the reminder about Gae Polisner’s new book! I just added it to my To Read list. Have a great week!

  2. Sue Jackson says:

    Sounds like you had a good reading week. I used to think that I didn’t like historical fiction…then I read Geraldine Brooks’ March and loved it! Now, I really enjoy historical fiction – both for adults and for kids/teens. i just finished Between Shades of Gray, and it blew me away! Amazing novel about a little-known aspect of history.

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

    Great Books for Kids and Teens is now on Facebook!

    Great Books for Kids and Teens

  3. Myra GB says:

    These are all unfamiliar titles to me, thanks for sharing them. I love historical fiction, so I’d probably check Alchemy and Meggy Swan out. 🙂 Have a great reading week!

  4. I’ve been hearing a lot about Polisner’s new book, I must check it out! I adored Penny from Heaven!

Leave a Reply

