It’s Monday! What are you reading?

IMWAYRIt is indeed Monday and I have been away from my computer and writing for to long. Yes, I have been reading but that has slowed way down.  I do have a reason -I returned to the classroom and have been sharing books with 3rd and 4th graders. (So much for retirement – it only lasted one month. Maybe in January I will really retire.)

So for the last few weeks I have been re-reading E.B White books.

We began our year with a quick author study.  That meant Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little and The Trumpet of the Swan were by my bed each night. What great reads! If you have not read them in a while they are worth going back to. The Trumpet of the Swan was a bit tough for our fourth graders. Reading was ok but the language was “odd” – old world for them. (Their comment!)

We have left EB White behind and moved on to dog books.  I know the leap does not make sense except that Debra Frasier’s new book was released on October 1st and I had an early release copy.  Thanks Debra!  We are now deep into writing dog stories and reading dog books. They are so excited and enjoying a wide range of books.   Titles like – How to Steal a Dog, The Dog with the Golden Eyes, Because of Winn Dixie, Dogsong, and Woodsong.  Some titles I would not usually put in front of 4th graders but they seem up to the task and are reading away.  sike

This leads me to what am I reading besides all of the above.

I currently have finished The Falcon in the Glass by Susan Fletcher.  A great middle grade mystery book about good, evil, family and trust in oneself.  Susan takes us into a fantasy world with strong ties to real world historical glassmaking. We follow a young boy working to become an apprentice in the glassworks after his father is killed. Renzo, our lead character, has many decisions to make as homeless “bird” children gather in the factory at night for warmth. He knows they should not be there but how do you put little ones out in the rain and cold. Beside a young girl with them can provide him the help he needs that might make all the difference when he must show others what he can make with the glass.   The Falcon in the Glass

This is just the start of a deep and winding story of loyalty, love and trust.  It would be a great read aloud for 5th and 6th graders.

Fish and SnailThe picture book read this week was Fish and Snail by Deborah Freeman.  Its a cute tale of friendship and trust. Fish and Snail both need to give just a little to each other in order to keep their friendship. It is a cute story for little ones. I shared it with a group of 3rd graders -a bit young for them but I had just helped their classroom clean and restore a large river fish tank with new fish and snails. It made sense at the time. We all enjoyed it. I had it on my i pad and projected it up so they read along with me. It was great fun after the new fish were safe and sound in a clean tank.

I am looking forward to reading ( but not sure I will get to all of them)

  • The Real Boy
  • Flora and Ulysses
  • Al Capone Does My Homework
  • Eleanor and Park

What are you reading this week?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Myra GB says:

    I have E.B. White’s novels here at home, but haven’t had a chance to read through them yet. I’m hoping to get to them soonest. 🙂 Thank you for sharing your reading experiences with your class. Looks like they’re having so much fun with the diversity of reading materials you’re sharing with them. Always a wonderful thing. Looks like you’d have your reading week cut out for you as well with all those novels. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

