It’s Monday! What are you reading?

IMWAYRLast week I was approved for a few pre published books from Netgalley so I side tracked my reading of The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp. ( Sorry Kathi A. – I do love what I am reading and have plans to return to finish it and review it this week.)  Instead I read a YA book! Odd for me!

 

YA Book:  Living with Jackie ChanI jumped into Jo Knowles soon to be released book Living with Jackie Chan. (release date Sept. 10)  It was getting a lot of attention on Twitter so I decided to make the leap and read a it before my beloved MG’s books.  

I am so glad I did – I am not as well versed on YA books coming from teaching 3rd – 5th grade.  I did not realize until the end of this story that this was a response book to Jumping off Swings published in 2011.  It is a story that stand on its on but I now want to go back and read Jumping off Swings.

Knowles takes us into the life and thinking of Josh, otherwise known as Samurai Sam. We know he has made a “mistake” and is now living with his uncle.  Josh’s fears, concerns and growth are slowly revealed as we move through his last year of high school in a new place with new beginnings.

This book deals with the emotions of teenage pregnancy but from the view point of the father/boy.  It is done with care, humor and understanding. We watch as a young man having made a poor choice changes. The community around him also grows and changes as they seeks to support him or understand what has happened.   It is well worth the read.

MG Books: This week I am returning to Kathi Appelt’s new book of course.

Listening for LuccaI am also reading Listening for Lucca by Suzanne La Fleur which was just released this month. La Fleur has set up a mystery, maybe a ghost story – I will let you know next week.  I am only about 1/4 of the way into the story and need to stop writing so I can get back to reading. I am intrigued and need to know what is really happening with Lucca and his older sister, Siena.

 Pictures Books: Sorry no PB this week.

I am just to wrapped up in these new middle grade and young adult books.  I do have two non fiction science books about insect sitting on my desk that I will share next Monday.   They will be part of the suggested reading for the new post going up on Garden Learning: Learning in a Wild Garden.

Happy Reading!

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I am glad you liked Living with Jackie Chan. I just got a copy and planned to read it this week. It is good to know it stands alone, as students tend to ask that question. I loved Jumping Off Swings, so I suspect this one will be as great as all of Jo Knowles’ books. Thanks for sharing great titles this week!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I loved Jo Knowles’ book, See You At Harry’s, so know I will enjoy her others-just haven’t gotten to them yet. Glad to hear you talk about middle grade books which I don’t know as well. I’ll look for The True Blue Scouts…

Leave a Reply

