Sometimes in my neighborhood

Note:   This is a quick write from the Teachers Write Virtual Summer Camp (http://www.katemessner.com/teachers-write-625-tuesday-quick-write-sometimes/).    I had planned to do this in my writers notebook- the old paper pencil way but decided I liked the idea of having it on-line where I can find it in the future.  We will see how this works.

This is a prompt I use often with my students.   The act of thinking of a place you have been or really like then making a list of all the sights, sounds, smells, tastes and feelings that go with that place.   Kate has added the sometimes to it to begin the writing.

Sometimes in my neighborhood:

Sometimes early in the morning as I sit by my second story window I can hear the sounds of birds in the arborvitae across the street.  There are the feet of dog walkers quietly scuffling along and dog tags jingling as their pets sniff their way down the block.  There is sound of the distant freeway rumbling along increasing in sound as the day begins to wake up.

Sometimes early in the morning as I sit by my window I can smell the moist soil and the fresh green scent of my garden growing below. The faint smell of nutmeg for the Buffalo Current bush mixed with the cool damp air slides into my window.

Sometimes early in the morning as I sit by my window I see the green of early summer lawns, the yellow of dandelions peaking through and the neat rows of lettuce, onions and radishes in my neighbors front yard garden.

Sometimes early in the morning as I sit by my window I realize how important it is to just sit listening to the world.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

