Truly stuck – really just to tired to think

sols_6Tuesday Slice of Life:

I am really stuck tonight.   I wrote every day for a month.  I often write on Tuesdays when the days are very full.   Today I am on spring break.  I just drove home from Iowa and have the house alone.  ( My husband returns from a work trip tomorrow. )    The house is quiet and I have all the time I need or want but here I sit stuck.

I read a few posts on the Slice of Life site, I have looked through Ruth and Stacey’s book Day By Day thinking it would trigger some great thought I could write about, I just finished Because of Mr. Terupt (which is great by the way).     Still stuck so I decided to just write about being stuck.   I have gotten just these few words into my post and I know why I am just staring at my computer.

It is called tired and emotionally exhausted.  As I said I have just driven home from Iowa (7 hours)  but it was a trip to move my Mother on to a new floor in her care facility.   I moved her into an area that is more restricted but will hopefully give her more care that she needs.  The confusion and worry it caused her was hard to handle and concerns me.  When supporting elderly parents you always wonder if you are doing the right thing.

I guess it is like teaching my high poverty students – I am always wondering if I am doing the right thing.

Tonight I am to tired to think about it.   These are big thought for another day.  Tonight I am going to crawl in bed and read at least for a few minutes.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Truly stuck – really just to tired to think

  1. Ramona says:

    Thanks for your honest sharing tonight! I’m on spring break too. I stopped by the assisted living center tonight with my BFF to visit “udder mudder.” My friend is also facing difficult decisions. Take care & enjoy some much needed rest.

  2. luckygurl says:

    Yes, this sounds so familiar to me. Emotional and physical drain can be hard on our writing.

    It reminds me of a post I wrote trying to figure out why I was stuck:
    http://writingmehome.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/waiting/

    I love how you just trusted the page, and wrote about feeling stuck. Hope the rest of your week provides some rest and replenishment!
    marika

  3. Couldn’t help but add a note that my son sent me in reply to my post.
    On writing -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_IO5vt0R_g
    Words from a poet.

  4. Wilcox Carol says:

    I think writing takes a ton of emotional energy. And it sounds like you have already put out a ton of emotional energy the last few days. Bed and a good book sound like perfect solutions! Tomorrow is a new day and there will be lots more words!

  5. jhaworthoy says:

    I know how you feel. Your post really spoke to me. My mother’s family is from Iowa, so I made many trips there….when I was growing up. It was a seven hour drive for us. Plus, my mother lived with me the last twelve years of her life…so I know the questions we children of aging parents feel when we have to make decisions. I know you must be exhausted…not only from the long drive..and moving your mother to a new room…but especially from the the emotional strain you had in making decisions and in watching your mother age. It is difficult…but you can only do the best you can do. Get some rest. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

