Steam

sols_6OK   it is week three and at least for tonight I have run out of STEAM.   I am lead on our schools science fair –  theme is Building up Steam ( Science, technology, engineering, art and mathematics) and so I have been contacting community resources, managing all the questions from our teachers and working with 56 students to develop science fair boards.  I have had four IEP meetings for special needs students this week,  a child with more special needs was moved into my room today and the office forgot to tell me so he just arrived at my door and said I am now in your room.  He at least was very happy about it and walked in and found a desk.   Oh yeah and teaching those 56 students reading, writing and science.

There is always more going on – you guys know this all to well.

I came home and realized that the steam in this engine of mine had gone out, the head cold is winning and writing is just something that is not going to happen tonight.

I am off to sleep with the hopes that a bit of rest will re-kindle the fire for teaching tomorrow and writing tomorrow night.

Sleep well everyone!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Steam

  1. Ellen says:

    So many of us are probably feeling that way – I can empathize. We are close to spring break – I hope that you are as well, and you can take a slightly longer rest to take care of you! Whew, good luck with it all.

  2. Lori Kidder says:

    Rest well! Not long ago my principal forgot to tell me of a new kindergarten student. In my room I always have about 12 things that need to be labeled. It was not a good day!

  3. Wilcox Carol says:

    Phew! Sounds like you have a lot on your plate! The science fair, IEP meetings, new students, and then teaching to boot! Hope you get a good night’s sleep and awake refreshed!

Leave a Reply

