Writing begets writing

sols_6We are about half way through the writing challenge and I can feel the energy building.  I am not sure why this happens but it does.   I noticed it last year although it was a little farther into the month.

The happening is the Writing Energy.   The more I work to get a post done each day the more I want to write.  The ideas are easier to find.   There are small moments each day that I notice and think there I can write about that or wow that is a great comment that is worth writing about.   I see ideas in the other people posts that  I read and in the blogs I read that are not connected to our great community.

 

I have a student garden blog  (Garden Learning: Learning in a Wild Garden)  that has been in hibernation this winter and now I am itching to wake it up and get writing again.

My students although not as excited as I am are also showing the writing bug.  They were worried yesterday as our day was filling up with science lessons and review for testing that they would not get their SOL writing in.   A few of my fourth graders came hurring back to class to get their writing notebooks for the weekend.

I have felt this same feeling when walking.  The more I walk the more I want to walk.   The more you exercise the better you feel the more you want to exercise.

Writing is just another form of exercise.  It is moving the brain muscle.  The brain likes to think and  to move.   So writing on dear friends!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Writing begets writing

  1. margaretsmn says:

    I feel the energy, too. I felt a slump earlier this week, and I didn’t think I could find the energy to write, but I pushed through. I try to stay a day ahead and that is sometimes hard to do when life gets in the way. This SOLC has been great for my students, too. They are pushing themselves through, getting and giving energy to each other through comments. Testing is coming, and I need to take some time to prepare my students for it, but we’d rather be slicing.

  2. macrush53 says:

    I agree., there’s a synergy of energy building in this community. Read another’s post and ideas spring forward for what to write next. Thank you for sharing.

  3. It is true…writing begets writing as I have discovered through this process.

  4. I also believe that writing begets more writing. It is so exciting, as exciting as it is to be waiting for those beginning shoots of green in our gardens. xo

  5. mvervinck says:

    I notice that I look for those things I can write about as the day wears on. This is all new to me since this is my first year dong this. It is nice to warm up and use a muscle that I haven’t had the opportunity to use in a very long time.

  6. Ellen Spears says:

    Knowing you are going to write makes you look at life differently. There is a lot of rehearsing, listening to different phrases in your mind, capturing ideas. Many muscles at work to get the writing done.

  7. Wilcox Carol says:

    I agree with you. At the beginning of the challenge, I wondered why I was even going to bother doing it this year. Just didn’t feel like I would have enough to write about. Truthfully, I only started because I had signed up to help. But like you, I’m feeling like the more I write, the more I have to say.

  8. Jaana says:

    We write so that we can write! We absolutely have energy!

Leave a Reply

