Thinking of spring

sols_6It is Friday night and  I am to tired to even begin to think about children, school, or writing but did not want to miss a day of the challenge.   So I have moved my thinking to spring.  I am searching the internet for pictures of spring.

A great little blog call Cold Climate Gardening http://www.coldclimategardening.com/2013/03/15/garden-bloggers-bloom-day-march-2013/ has a few early pictures of spring flowers just peaking out of the ground.  Yes – I thought that is what should be happening in my garden.   It is the middle of March and I planted a whole garden of bulbs last fall.  I should be seeing just the early tips coming up but..

This is Minnesota and we are having a good old fashion winter so – No there are no bulbs pushing out of the ground.  There is no  thermogenesis–plants creating their own heat and melting the snow around them.   My front garden is still sleeping under about 2 feet of snow.  The weekend forecast is for another 2 to 3 inches today after a day of rain and ice.  The Monday morning drive to work is also suppose to have another 3 to 6 inches of snow.

I have a feeling those of us who are doing North Land Gardening will not be seeing any spring flowers until late April.  The St. Patty’s Day parade will be in snow boots and mittens and no Easter Egg hunts out in the back yard.

There is a real need for spring and warm weather but I do have to admit a small side of my is happy for the snow.  It gives me hope that our seasons are not completely off kilter and that global warming has not taken over.

So for now I will put a fire in, read a good book and watch the spring snow fall.

( If you are looking for a good spring break read that deals with global warming check out  Barbara Kingsolver’s new book – Flight Behavior. )

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thinking of spring

  1. Thank you for the shoutout. Are you a member of the Minnesota Horticultural Society? They put out a great magazine–Northern Gardener.

  2. Wilcox Carol says:

    I am in Colorado. Our winters the last few years have been mild and dry. We had no snow at all until a few weeks ago. Have had several big storms, but temperature today is in the 70’s and the news is all about water rationing for the summer. I would love two or three more big storms because we could really use the moisture.

  3. Our bulbs are up and out but we too are having a very cold March for Pennsylvania. Thanks for linking to my thermogenesis article. I loved Flight Behavior too.

Leave a Reply

