Pushing the writing muscle

sols_6Today is day 5 of writing for me and day two for my students.  My students surprised me today by  taking up their notebooks and writing.  No complaints.  Yesterday was not good.  It was interesting to see who really wrote with passion and who is just giving me words about anything in their heads.  As always there are a few students that I can not predict would settle into the writing quickly.

A new student to my classroom who has done very little work since she arrived quickly began using this as a personal journal of fears, frustrations and concerns.  Another boy who can’t stop talking on a regular day crawled off in a corner to finish what he had started yesterday.

And then there was me – the teacher journal in hand on day five wondering what should I write about.  I sat staring at the blank page.  Nothing seemed important enough to write on.  Then one of my students said,  “Ms. Toft are you stuck?  Just starting writing the words  –   I don’t know what to write about and it will come.   That is what you always tell us.”

Nice to know they listen and glad that they reminded me.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pushing the writing muscle

  1. Wilcox Carol says:

    Out of the mouths of babes! How great for your kids to see the example of you writing!

  2. I remember doing this and just getting words some days. Man, that’s frustrating. But as writers, ourselves, we know how to respond when this happens.

  3. I’m going to link to this in Thursday’s classroom slice post. (And mention it too.) You really tapped-into an important thing that might be on other teachers’ minds.

  4. Jone says:

    I love this. I have been there.

  5. Pingback: Classroom SOLSC: 7 of 31 #slice2013 #comments4kids | TWO WRITING TEACHERS

Leave a Reply

