A day late but not stopping

sols_6This is my day one post –  yes, I know I am a day late.   Yes,  I know this confuses things but for me I needed to write for the whole month – no matter what. I need to have 31 posts in the month of March.    March 1 was conference day for us – the wonder of taking time with parents was enjoyed in a way I have not enjoyed conferences in a long time.  ( you can read about that in day two  – Auspicious Wonder)

This post is just a note to all that really we are never to late when writing.   If you fall behind this month just keep writing.  Don’t let it stop you!

At 11:00 pm last night – day one of the Challenge I knew that my post was not going to happen.  My brain was done for the day.  I fretted and thought ok  that blows the whole thing.  I am done before I get started!   I was in a late night, to tired mood.   I slid off to bed still mad at myself about not writing.

But this morning I woke up to the sun ( although very cold) and realized for me it is not about the days – it is about the writing.    Last year I did it – I wrote every day.  This year may be different but I can still write and write as often as I can.   It is about the daily practice I know that and can feel the difference when I write daily.

This teaching year I have fallen away from my writing and I can feel it.   So I am using the March Challenge to kick start my writing again.    There are no bad days – they are just days I did not get to the computer to put my words down.  I will try again tomorrow and keep going.

If you are like me and find a day or two that you are overwhelmed and writing isn’t happening don’t give up, don’t stop.   The “sun will come up tomorrow” and you can begin again.    At least that is what I tell my students and I am telling myself.

Welcome to the March Challenge.

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A day late but not stopping

  1. Tara says:

    It really IS about the writing…late or not! I love the way you stayed positive and sliced anyway!

  2. Thank you so much for this word, I am feeling a bit challenged by the pace…also. Right now a cold has got me moody and a bit down. By the way, I love your writing ! xo

  3. Deanna H says:

    Better late than never. Glad you posted. I am going to challenge myself for after the SLOC is over to actually slice on the regular weekly slices. I think that will help me to not get in a writing slump. Like you said, “The sun will come up tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

