Missing words

It has been a long time since I have written for this blog.  The world has been spinning like a merry go round out of control.   I would say there has been just to much of to many things.

This school year started off rough and continued to build into a scattered mess of papers, to do lists, and behavior forms.   Personal writing was the one thing I needed for my sanity and the one thing that kept getting dropped of the list each night as I struggled to be ready for the next day.

As teachers we know the struggle to keep our heads above water – lesson plans, student reports, grading, behavior plans, learning communities for professional development – I could keep the list going and then there is just the day of holding 28 students of poverty together to learn.  It is all good stuff but…

This week I fell off the merry go round with a short ride to the hospital for a kidney stone.  So small an irritation but so powerful the pain and rising blood pressure.  I was amazed that this tiny stone, really no larger that a grain of sand, brought me to a complete stop.

All in all the stop was sorely needed.   This is day two of being at home with nothing from my classroom to work on.   I have finally cleared my head to begin to write again.  A small sense of peace and quiet has entered my thinking and the missing words are forming again.

What I know is that writing is a way to reflect, to slow down and look around.   It should not take a ride to the hospital to get here!    I need to make some changes!  I need to keep putting the missing words on paper even after I return to school.   It is important for me but also important for my students – to see a more centered teacher.  A teacher who writes to relax, to learn and to share!

Perfect timing – the March Writing Challenge is almost here and I am determined to stay with it!   See you every day in March!

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

