5 steps to staying afloat

It is now November 13th.  The school year has been crazy and for the first time this year I am feeling quiet and calm.   ( I know I still have student individual learning plans to finish but I am more than 1/2 way through  🙂  )   There are always things to do, lessons to plan and more to read than I can even begin to list here but…

Tonight, at 9:40 pm I feel like I can breath just a bit.   I can step back and reflect with out the hurry or tension that the early part of this fall seemed to have.

What is it that now gives me the grace and quiet to think?

I have taken a new approach to the chaos I call teaching.   Here is what has helped me stay afloat

  • I write my daily what went well today list – at least 10 items. ( ok almost daily)
  • I am writing a what I am thankful for each day of November on Facebook.
  • I am making sure I share the positives of my day at home first – so some nights we never discuss the negative of the day.
  • I am making sure I participate in several events each weekend that are not related to school.
  • I am reading and writing for me – at least once each week.

The new approach is not really so new.  We have heard of positive thinking for years but this is a bit more than just positive thinking – it is positive doing.   Each step I take is an action not just a thought.  It is the action that has changed how I think and feel about this year.  It is the taking time to write, taking time to see what works, and taking time for me.

The students are still struggling, my behavior issues in the classroom still surface, the paper work is still there, lesson plans and expectations are still all there – it is all there!

But I am acting and feeling different.  It helps to take action when the world seems to be out of control.   Just 5 small steps taken over and over can make all the difference.

What steps are you taking to stay afloat?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 steps to staying afloat

  1. elsie says:

    Surrounding yourself with the positive is a great plan. When I become overwhelmed with the “to do” list I start chipping away at the list with what must be done first, continuing to check the items off.

Leave a Reply

