If you want to write just write

Slice of Life

March 31, 2012

I woke early this morning wondering what  I might write for the last post.  I had spend the end of February planning and thinking of ideas for each post but a month of writing has changed that.  Reading other writers has changed that as well.   Reading Aggie Kesler’s post this morning about the traveler that she had become is exactly how I feel about the writer I am becoming. I knew what to write about.   Thanks Jennifer K for expressing it so well.

I began this journey of writing needing an itinerary, printed out maps.  I sought out the familiar sites and the things I knew.  I wrote on paper first or maybe in Word but never directly to my blog page.   I read the blogs that were familiar and stayed in my comfort zone.

31 days later and I have traveled a long distances as a writer.  I now sit down with my blog open and begin to type.  I can re write and revise directly in the blog. ( with no fear that I am messing things up)   I often begin with no set idea in my head.  There are days that I know that this is the moment I want to write about or the word that my post will be based on.  I am beginning to feel the freedom to just write.  I am not in that fear of the blank page mode any more.

I have heard like everyone else and now feel in my fingers that if you want to write you just need to write.

They are so right.       Thanks everyone for helping develop writing habits!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If you want to write just write

  1. Deb Day says:

    What a wonderful journey you have been on. I hope you continue writing on Tuesdays. It’s a great way to keep in touch with writing friends you have made and find great new ideas.

    Deb

  2. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    That’s the best advice we can ever remember — just write! Something will spill out, something will be created. Hope to see you on Tuesdays!

Leave a Reply

