Real writers are people who write everyday

Slice of Life

March 26, 2012

OK  – I was so excited that I only have six days and I will have made the challenge.   I am really doing it.  I am writing everyday and so are most of the students in my room.   We talked about it today and had a mini celebration around that fact that we are still writing.  We have written more words than we all could have imaged.     Today in fact they were writing their slice of life and then went directly to writing a short essay on Jackie Robinson with the theme of Opening Doors.    ( There is a contest due tomorrow – for tickets to see the local Twins play)

I was as surprised as any one when they asked if they could just do more research and writing today.  They went off to read and write.  Many got out the lap tops and began typing their work in google docs.    When we ran out of time they decided they would take them home and work on them and send them to me.   Yeah, I thought we will see how many of those come in for me to edit.   Ok, so I will be quiet – there are about 5 of them right now and since it is close to bedtime for fourth graders that may be the end tonight but I am amazed.   Many of my students don’t have a computer at home and many don’t have parent support in the evening but there they are –  google docs being share so I can review and edit.

There is something about daily writing that makes a difference.  If we are going to be writers we need to write.   My student essays are really pretty bad but the fact that they are writing at night and sending them to me makes my heart sing.    We can work with poor writing but when there is no writing then I am stuck.   We have some place to go – there are words on paper and students who are beginning to see that they are writers.

Thanks Slice of Life for pushing us to be real writers.    Writers are people who write everyday!   and we are!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Real writers are people who write everyday

  1. Becky says:

    Our students sounds similar and I come to the realization each year during this SOL that having students write frequently is so very important. So true that we can work with poor writing rather than none.

Leave a Reply

