Oh, nothing ever happens at school…

Slice of Life

March 14, 2012

You know that little line that our kids use when they get home from school –  the one that answers the question about what happened at school today –  “the oh nothing ever goes on!”   You see it in comics some times with the wild events happening in the background.      I always wondered who makes these things up until today.

This was an oh nothing day … from one of my fourth grade students.

  • The big guy -teacher across the hall was crying when I came up from breakfast.  His brother and sister had carbon monoxide poisoning – not sure what that is but they went to the hospital – they are ok and he stayed to teach my friend who is in his room.  I am glad.
  • I put my coat,  backpack, boots and that jacket I left from last fall in my locker and the door jammed.   Mr. M was not very happy with me when I was kicking it but it was the only way I could get it open again.  My Bridge To Terabiethia book was still in there.
  • My teacher was upset with us for not getting our work done and then we had a cookie while writing our slice of life. It was J’s birthday. 
  • I went out to the bathroom during reading and there was a pig walking down the hall.  He was visiting the 3rd grade room next door for part of the morning.  I sure hope he didn’t need the bathroom.
  • At recess lots of us were in the room completing last weeks work but we had “visitors”.  Nine anoles showed up a day early to go into our terrariums.  They were green but were changing to brown when they sat on top of the toilet paper rolls we put in there as hiding tunnels.
  • A few crickets that are in the terrariums for the anoles to eat kept slipping out the top so we stacked books on top to keep them in.  The anoles need something to eat other than that day old lettuce.
  • We did write our autobiography in media.  I finished mine in 9 minutes.  Not bad, one minute for each year of my life.   Am I doing well as a writer Ms. T?
  • Math was pretty quiet since we were working on algebra patterns and we were all lost.  Ms. T said she would try again tomorrow when she wasn’t trying to keep the anoles in the tanks.
  • We ended the day working in the computer lab but gave up when we couldn’t get Trent’s computer to stop singing about a fluffy bear.  We just shut them all down and headed to the bus. 

 See I told you we did nothing all day!  It was just the same old thing. 

 Thanks M. – so glad you thought this was just an ordinary day in the life of a fourth grader.   I think I will let you can chase the anoles tomorrow so I can really teach math.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh, nothing ever happens at school…

  1. Deb Day says:

    This just made me laugh. A nothing day, huh?

  2. You need to know we are an inner city school so meeting a pig and understanding a bit of the farm is great. It is just that Mr. Pig took off on his own walking down the carpeted hallway. Poor M was not sure what he should do about and finally just decided it was just part of the day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

