No words

Slice of Life

I have no words tonight!   I have no way to fully understand the sorrow that many of my students feel at such a young age.  I know the loss of a father from illness but violence is another think entirely.

School began today with a JAMM (just a quick morning meeting).  Students were already entering the building, breakfast was beginning.  Our Principals words left us silent – one of our fourth grade students had lost her father to gun fire on Saturday night.   A family BBQ turned bad.   The details have not been released and they do not matter.   What we know is another student and family on the north side of our city has lost their father.   Another African American male has been lost to the violence we see in our cities across American.

I am left in silence and sorrow!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to No words

  1. Donna Smith says:

    And everyone involved is someone’s child. I am left speechless also. I grieve for our youth. It is not the guns. We had guns on school buses (yes, how would you get them to rifle club?), in schools (yes, there were rifle clubs),and in homes (yes, not locked up, but we didn’t touch them) when I was young. It is the people. The people are not behaving in a civil manner. The details don’t matter, you are right. When will we grow up and take responsibility? When will we learn how to settle problems? The world is not WWWF. Let’s stay out of people’s faces and start talking stuff out.
    Okay, I guess I wasn’t speechless. I am so sorry for your school. My prayers are with you all.

  2. Jama says:

    Your words convey the devastation your community feels. May God give you wisdom and an outpouring of love to share with all of those who have been touched by this tragedy. What a waste!

  3. Linda Baie says:

    Words can’t work in times you experience like these. I am sorry for the loss of an important person, a father. Perhaps one part of healing is what you can do to help with the child and the child’s teacher (if needed) so they can form a healing relationship through trust. Perhaps then it will show you a path that feels better. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Wanda Brown says:

    You are right…there are no words…just empathy and compassion for this student and the family. Let’s hope the student finds a different path.

  5. Deb Day says:

    And I have no words for you…at least no magic words that will give you the power to make things better. All you can do is love this child and all the students in your school and then love this child and the students some more. Show them there is still kindness and love in the world. Give them a safe place to come. Oh my. Simply no magic words.

  6. elsie says:

    Each time I hear about incidents- like this my heart breaks for the family. This is a tragedy that has life-long effects. Hopefully the staff will be able to pull together and support this student. How sad.

  7. caroline524 says:

    I am always heartbroken to hear about these types of incidents. I hope the school can come together as a community to show support for this family during this terrible time. My prayers go out to you.

  8. MaryHelen says:

    My heart aches for those involved. I am sorry for this loss and hope the courage of ohters will surround him at school. We can be the safe haven. Thanks for sharing something so sensitive.

  9. Michelle says:

    It’s heartbreaking especially when it’s so close to home. What to say? Just be there. Listen. Let the student know you care. I can’t even imagine.

  10. I am so sorry…everyone is so numb, I’m sure.

  11. Linda says:

    I am very sorry to hear about this. You’re right about not having words in these situations. Last year, one of my students’ mother committed suicide a week before Christmas. Sometimes all we can to is be there to listen if the child chooses to talk with us.

  12. Peg D says:

    No words is exactly right. We talk of our kids living in poverty because they qualify for free and reduced lunch. In our little world we have no idea. I’m so sorry for your kids. I pray God gives you the words.

  13. Thank you for all the kind words! It is very helpful to have a community of writers who are there for you at these times. Today was hard – since several teachers were gone part of the day to the funeral. Students were unsure how to act and what to do. We are a community and becoming stronger as we hold together in the care of our students. Thanks for being there for all of us.

  14. Ruth says:

    I hope this Friday brings your strength and patience as you learn to live as a community who cares for one another. You have to be so very bone-tired.
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

