wonder/try/discover/share

Slice of Life

March 11, 2012

Today is a day of putting thing together.  As I read and work on my assignments for a science workshop I have been taking I see the connections once again between content areas ( science and writing).   I am noticing the words and processes that overlap.  When working with the local Bakken Electrical Museum we use the phrase – wonder/try/discover/share.   It is a way to express the inquiry cycle for science experiments.

It is also what we do as writers.  We wonder about books, our life and the world, we try putting words to our thinking, we discover new things about ourselves and others. Then we share them through blogs, books, Facebook, articles or notes to our friends.

As this month moves along and I work each day to be sure I have a post to share, my thinking continues to be pushed.  I wonder about the ideas and information I am reading in the newspaper, books, or comments on Facebook.   I am always asking is this a topic I want to think more about and would it make a good post.  I am writing things down to give it a try.   I am thinking about connections between all the parts of my life and have discovered connections I have not paid attention to.   The daily thought of writing and sharing for the SOL has focused my thinking.  I am more observant and seeking ideas to share with others.      I am living the writers life, the life of a scientist and an explorer.

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to wonder/try/discover/share

  1. Beth says:

    I am taking heart in your writing today! Wondering is the most powerful component of learning.

  2. MaryHelen says:

    I am writing things down to give it a try – I like this. We are trying and wondering and creating. Thanks for your perspective.

Leave a Reply

