Synchronicity

Slice of LIfe

Wednesday March 7, 2012

It was early this morning as I was driving to school.  I had left so much work undone in the room and wanted to get an early start before students rolled in.  I knew I could thing about lessons and planning as I make the drive this morning, automatic pilot sets in and I use that time to think through the day.  I rolled to an easy stop at the first stop sign and moved on since there was no traffic at that time of the morning.   Next stop sign and I realized my mind was not in the usual planning mode but was listening to the sounds out side the car.  Something was different. Not big different. Not the big aha moment but a quiet change.    The splash against the wheels as I drove, the sound of birds – they were flying north, the first, second and third lake I drove by was covered with standing water on the ice.  I noticed as I left the last lake the hockey rink was down and ice skating was clearly done for this season.   The light in the sky at 7:00 am had changed and the air was moist with a hint of soil behind it, the elm trees had red tip to the branches (the buds are  developing quickly).   In my fog of my morning thinking I was not sure what was pushing at me I just kept sensing this difference while driving and listening to the news on NPR.

I reached school and sat down to read through my students Slice of Life journal writing.   I was reminding myself about the fact that they were willing to write.  It really did not matter to me what they were writing.  I just wanted them to write but the first notebook was the moment of synchronicity.  There was J.J.’s journal full of the sounds he hears.  Sentence after sentence of sounds – the baby laughing at the sun, the water dripping off the roof, the dog in the back yard, the door slamming. It goes on for a full page and ends with one word.  SPRING

Yes, the early signs of spring are here – take a look around you. Even in Minnesota spring is showing its self in quiet ways.    Enjoy and thanks J. J. for the great Slice of Life – the sounds we hear!    What are your sounds and signs of spring?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Synchronicity

  1. Becky says:

    We have had a very mild winter, but I’m loving the sounds and signs of spring. I actually think I just like the change from one season to another. The anticipation of what is to come.

Leave a Reply

